2019 Sponsored Projects

The CIO Council establishes and provides oversight to focused CIO Council Working Groups, which:

  • Are formed around agreed-upon key issues facing the university community
  • Are chaired or co-chaired by full members of the CIO Council
  • Have a clear charge and deliverables
  • May include staff and/or faculty from across the university
  • Use a common template to communicate objectives, scope, deliverables

The 2019 sponsored projects and associated working groups are listed below.

Decentralize/Centralize: Opportunities to Centralize

Purpose: To identify specific areas that Stanford University would benefit from the centralization of technology-related services. This group will develop a process for evaluating and prioritizing opportunities for centralization or deepened alignment, as well as identify an initial list of opportunity examples.


Co-chairs: John Freshwaters (SE3), Michael Fox (LBRE)

Team: Michael Halaas (SoM), Ruth Marinshaw (UIT), Jon Pilat (H&S), Ganesh Karkala (UIT)

Pipeline: Migrating Distributed IT Systems to University-Scale Solutions

Purpose: There are innovative and useful systems being developed across a wide array of distributed IT groups that complement or fill gaps between central systems. In several cases, there has been interest expressed by the broader university community in these systems, but the path to make systems available for broader use is not well defined, and large sections of it are re-invented with each candidate system. This group was commissioned by the CIO Council to make recommendations on how that process can be improved and how, as an IT community, we can better identify systems that are built by distributed IT that have potential to solve problems at university scale.


Chair: Jon Pilat (H&S)

Team: Paul Robles (R&DE), Minh Nguyen (SMC), Amy Balsom (SE3), Don Mitchell (SoM), Sam Steinhardt (UIT), Jon Russell (UIT), Swati Prabhu (LBRE), Enzo Carrone (SLAC), Corrie Potter (IRDS)

Academic and Research Community Support and Alignment



Chair: Richard Webber (VPTL), Tom Cramer (SUL)

Team:  Michael Halaas (SoM), Ruth Marinshaw (UIT), Paul Kim (GSE), Jon Pilat (H&S), John Freshwaters (Earth)

Rotational Assignments (still being defined)

Outcome: This working group has evolved into the IT Experiential Development Program (EDP), with new chairs and team members. EDP recommendations were delivered in 2019 and the program will roll out in 2020.

Chair: Jon Pilat (H&S), Sam Steinhardt (UIT)

Team: Paul Robles (R&DE), Nancy Ware (UIT), Theresa Bamrick (SLAC), Dani Aivazian (UIT), Michael Fox (LBRE)

Stanford WIT (Stanford Women in Technology)

Purpose: A university-wide women in technology program that will advance gender representation, engagement, and support, aligning with our goals to attract, develop, reward, and retain a diverse and talented workforce and leadership pipeline, while also fostering a productive and inclusive work environment where all people feel valued and respected.

Outcome: Promoted to CIO Council-sponsored strategic initiative, as part of IDEAL IT.

Co-Chairs: Megan Clarke (GSB); Ruth Marinshaw (UIT)

Team: Stanford WIT teams include the Steering Committee, Advisory Group, and Planning Committees. Learn more about Stanford WIT teams.

Wayfinding and Digital Signage (still being defined)



Chair: Jason Watson (Law)

Team: Nominations Pending from the following: Jon Pilat (H&S), Theresa Bamrick (SLAC), Michael Halaas (SoM), Aaron Cole (Earth), Michael Fox (LBRE), Kurt Howerton (SoE)